Sangamon County, Illinois         

Sangamon County, Illinois was established in 1821 from parts of Madison and Bond Counties.

It was named for a Pottawatomie term meaning "where there is plenty to eat."

Abraham Lincoln represented Sangamon County in the Illinois Legislature and in the US House of Representatives.

The county seat is Springfield, Illinois.

Sangamon County, Illinois has a population of about 195,000 and is one of 102 counties in Illinois.

Schools located in Sangamon County include Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield College in Illinois and University of Illinois.

Cities and towns located in Sangamon County, Illinois include Auburn, Berlin, Buffalo, Cantrall, Chatham, Clear Lake, Dawson, Divernon, Grandview, Illiopolis, Jerome, Leland Grove, Loami, Mechanicsburg, New Berlin, Pawnee, Pleasant Plains, Riverton, Rochester, Sherman, Southern View, Spaulding, Springfield, Thayer, Williamsville, Andrew, Archer, Barclay, Bates, Bissell, Bolivia, Bradfordton, Breckenridge, Cimic, Curran, Devereux, Farmingdale, Glenarm, Ildes Park Place, Lowder, New City, Old Berlin, Riddle Hill, Roby, Salisbury, Sicily and Toronto.

For more information about Sangamon County, please click here, Inc. 2008